Luck of The Irish

 

The night before I was set to fly out to Belfast -> was my works Christmas party. I went along figuring I’d say hello have a drink and leave.  That could not be more opposite to what actually happened. now I’m not a wine drinker, I don’t even like wine. But when that is the only free drink option you learn to drink it, well drink it fast. And next thing I know I’m in Belfast.

Somehow I autopiloted myself home (repacked like the drunk I was) and made my way to the airport. I do not know how they let me on the plane but I do remember waking up on touchdown and immediately feeling the effects of the hangover.

January 15th

After checking in to my hostel dumping my bag and resisting the urge to immediately sleep forever I made it to the Titanic Belfast ->. (it was also at this point I started receiving messages from my coworkers who assumed I had missed my flight). This visit was actually a lot more emotional than I anticipated. and almost everyone emerged from the exhibition drying their eyes.

Just outside is the SS Nomadic -> which is the last remaining White Star Line ship in the world

January 16th

After the earliest bed time known to man, I work up and boarded a bus -> to the Giants Causeway ->. We passed a Vanishing Lake -> and Stopped at Carrick-a-Rede Rope Bridge -> where fishermen erected the bridge to Carrick-a-Rede island over a 23m-deep and 20m-wide chasm to check their salmon nets.

After a visit to Old Bushmills Distillery -> for lunch, we were off again

We finally reached our the Giants Causeway. walking down to the causeway certainly, builds the anticipation and it did not disappoint. Despite being a cold and rainy day I had a great time climbing up the rocks and talking about its formation with the guides.

January 17th

This morning started with a visit to the Ulster Museum -> and continued my bus tour around the city before stopping off at the Crumlin Road Gaol ->

January  Oslo  February

Leave a Reply

