Top Of The Mornin’ To You

March 15-18th

Greetings!

As quite a last minute decision I called in my lieu days at work and joined the Britbound (-> /Top Deck -> trip to Dublin -> for St. Patricks Day ->.

Day one was primarily a travel day but we pulled together and went out for drinks shortly after arriving. Bright and early the next day we had a walking tour and a visit to the Guinness storehouse  -> (could there be a better time to go?). After a quick visit, this is where I went off on my own (I’ve already done the storehouse and I’m not that interested in the making of Guinness). So I made a visit to the Book of Kells -> and the Long room in the Old Library ->.

After another night of drinking, we woke up and made our way to the parade route where the drinking was already in full swing. I have never been in a more crowded space. you could have lifted your feet off the ground and not have moved. I was a bit surprised at the percentage of American groups that came through the parade. You almost had to search for an Irish group, so not what I was expecting.

After the parade, we fought our war to the pub where top deck had the basement reserved and we proceeded to day drink the day away. This included chugging doubles (my poor wallet) and sending some alcohol newbies back to the hostel in with a not so happy taxi driver. It’s almost disorientating to come outside and there still be daylight. After a way too early wake up call we boarded the bus to catch our ferry. No one was in good shape for that ride. Most people coped by drinking, lying on the ground and hoping it stops, or stuffing their face. I’m pretty sure I ate two breakfasts on that ferry. On the way back to London we took a detour too Llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrndrobwll-llantysiliogogogoch ->.

And to think tomorrow morning I have to be up and at the lake to complete my dive course.

March  PADI  April

Britbound

2 thoughts on “Top Of The Mornin’ To You

Leave a Reply

