The Descent Into Hell

May 8th

How many houses can you say come complete with a Hell Staircase? Burghley -> sure can and just at a time when I thought I couldn’t be more stunned.  I’m not sure what I was expecting when I decided to visit Burghley but I can certainly say they were entirely surpassed.

On a surprisingly warm UK day, the surprise garden was a definite asset for the local families as children enjoyed the fountains and jets. I was crazy enough to dare to go in (I remained dry). the statue park was an interesting surprise and I’m not sure what to make of most of it but I’m sure for some it’s rather more enjoyable but the stroll itself was well worth the walk.

On the way back my taxi driver served as an excellent tour guide so I stopped in the town and went for a bit of exploring before running off to the station to catch my train back.

May Osborne House Audley End Dover Chatsworth Castle Howard Blenheim Palace June

 

Leave a Reply

