Post Me Somewhere Nice

What’s next? the question I am inevitably asked as I creep towards the end of my visa, as a student, as I’m not getting any younger. This used to induce crippling anxiety. For the first time, I didn’t know. My professor asked me where I wanted to be in five years. I had to tell him I hadn’t figured out life past the end of my visa (I didn’t even know what country I’d be in come September). But having a ridiculous amount of time off between terms I had a lot of downtime to get completely demotivated (hard to convince yourself to work hard for an MA when you already have one) about school and get so far down the rabbit hole on planning future trips I think I might be in wonderland. Now I’m trying to claw my way back to focusing on Uni. I’m actually excited about what’s next.

So what is next? Technically have 3 nexts. (and a few smaller ones). Two years ago my friend Leanne showed me a program that looked amazing. Unfortunately, I was already planning on coming to the UK so I didn’t act on it. well, now I have the chance. I could have applied in the January applications however if I was successful in getting an interview would have had to fly back to Canada for the interview. So I decided to wait until the august applications and in the mean time devour ever blog and vlog I could find on the subject.

Plan B will be determined on how my application goes. It is an extremely competitive position so I don’t hold high points but at the same time, I do. What if I don’t get it? Well, there is a long distance trail I want to hike. I had long ago said I would hike it after my visa runs out. And that may well be the case. The earliest I would start is arch 2018 which would give me enough time to go home, save up, train, and gather my gear. I can always reapply. If I do get into the program I’ll do this after and turn 30 on the trail which will be cool. And yet again devouring books, blogs and vlogs, it might be classified as stalking now.

Last but not least: another working holiday visa. I would love to experience New Zealand and Australia. Unfortunately, I will age out of the New Zealand limits before I have the chance but Australia currently has a 35 limit so I can always try for that. It doesn’t hurt that I’ve met some great people from Australia in the past year and a half.

January also had me thinking about how I wanted to get home. My first idea was a transatlantic cruise. Which would be absolutely awesome but if you don’t have someone to share a cabin with it becomes completely unaffordable so that is on the back burner for a little while. Then I thought about doing a stop over in Iceland (do I really need to explain this one?). But now I’m currently thinking of following an idea I had a few years ago when I was planning my backpacking trip. Canada road trip. Currently, planning will have me fly into St Johns, rent a car, and drive to Toronto where I would fly home (save myself the 17-hour stretch in between). This also has potential for friends joining me for a stretch but I’m currently estimating 2 weeks with driving time and city visits.

Hopefully, I’m between that I can fit in a lot more travelling. For the first time I also sat down and wrote a ‘bucket list’  it started out small and quickly escalated.

  • Road Trip Canada
  • Cultural Representative Program
  • Hike the Appalachian Trail
  • Work on a Cruise Ship
  • Transatlantic Cruise
  • Dive Iceland Continental Divide
  • Hike the Great Wall
  • TranSiberian Express
  • Visit Antartica
  • Hike Inca Trail to Machu Pichu
  • Angkor Wat
  • Forbidden City
  • Svalbard
  • Base Camp Everest
  • Petra
  • Pyramids
  • Re-Learn to Play the Piano
  • Venice Carnival

December January February

 

Leave a Reply

